Annual Conference & Exhibit

Our largest education effort of the year, this three-day event draws hundreds of city officials from all corners of Iowa

September 28-30, 2022 | WATERLOO
Annual Conference & Exhibit

The League’s Annual Conference & Exhibit is the largest training in the state designed specifically for Iowa’s elected and appointed city officials. The conference also includes ample opportunity to network with peers and learn from one another. When you attend the Annual Conference & Exhibit you’ll have the opportunity to:

  • Choose from nearly 40 educational workshops covering issues important to city officials.
  • Connect with colleagues to learn new ideas.
  • Find resources to help improve your community.
  • Adopt the League’s legislative values for the next session.
  • Become better at helping to lead and serve your community.

2021 Annual Conference & Exhibit

Iowa River Landing | Coralville

Thanks to all attendees, speakers, exhibitors and sponsors for joining us in Coralville for the 2021 Annual Conference & Exhibit, as well as those that participated in the virtual workshops. We also deeply appreciate our hosts in Coralville for helping put on a great conference, we all enjoyed your hospitality!

Below you will find presentations and handouts from the various workshops, a news release to share with your local media about your particpation at the conference, photos from the event, and more.

2021 Annual Conference & Exhibit Workshop Sessions - Coralville

wdt_ID Day Title Time URL Year Month Date Link
1 Thursday Addressing Utility Needs in a Growing Community: Adel Case Study https://www.iowaleague.org/events/addressing-utility-needs-in-a-growing-community-adel-case-study/ 2021 9 16 Addressing Utility Needs in a Growing Community: Adel Case Study
2 Friday Advancing Racial Equity: The Role of Municipal Government https://www.iowaleague.org/events/advancing-racial-equity-the-role-of-municipal-government/ 2021 9 17 Advancing Racial Equity: The Role of Municipal Government
3 Thursday Can You Budget Better Than a 5th Grader? https://www.iowaleague.org/events/can-you-budget-better-than-a-5th-grader/ 2021 9 16 Can You Budget Better Than a 5th Grader?
4 Friday Change Blows: Leading Through the Mess https://www.iowaleague.org/events/change-blows-leading-through-the-mess/ 2021 9 17 Change Blows: Leading Through the Mess
5 Thursday City Family Feud https://www.iowaleague.org/events/city-family-feud/ 2021 9 16 City Family Feud
6 Wednesday Coralville Bike Tour https://www.iowaleague.org/events/coralville-bike-tour/ 2021 9 15 Coralville Bike Tour
7 Thursday Coworking Spaces Offer New Opportunities https://www.iowaleague.org/events/coworking-spaces-offer-new-opportunities/ 2021 9 16 Coworking Spaces Offer New Opportunities
8 Thursday Electric Vehicle Fast-Charging Network https://www.iowaleague.org/events/electric-vehicle-fast-charging-network/ 2021 9 16 Electric Vehicle Fast-Charging Network
9 Friday Fiber to the Home: No Electric Utility, No Problem, Well, Sorta https://www.iowaleague.org/events/fiber-to-the-home-no-electric-utility-no-problem-well-sorta/ 2021 9 17 Fiber to the Home: No Electric Utility, No Problem, Well, Sorta
10 Thursday Financing Water and Wastewater Infrastructure Projects Using the State Revolving Fund https://www.iowaleague.org/events/financing-water-and-wastewater-infrastructure-projects-using-the-state-revolving-fund/ 2021 9 16 Financing Water and Wastewater Infrastructure Projects Using the State Revolving Fund

Latest News

Your one-stop-shop for the everchanging news, events and resources impacting Iowa local government.

November 29, 2021

Join the League, the Iowa Natural Heritage Foundation and Drake Law School Agricultural Law Center on December 14 at 11 a.m. for…

November 29, 2021

​Here’s an exciting opportunity to share your knowledge and expertise with local government decision-makers! The Iowa League of Cities is seeking ideas/proposals…

November 22, 2021

The National League of Cities (NLC) released a new report, On the Frontlines of Today’s Cities: Trauma, Challenges and Solutions​, detailing the rising…