If I Were Mayor Essay Contest

Promoting good city government is important to the Iowa League of Cities, and this essay contest provides students the opportunity to reflect on the role of the key elected official in their own city. This contest is sponsored by Snyder & Associates​

Our fu​ture mayors of our cities are in classrooms today. The education they receive helps them to become good citizens - and good mayors. The League promotes this essay contest to 7th grade English and Social Studies teachers each fall and asks mayors to reach out to these teachers locally as well.

A winning essay will be selected in each of the state’s congressional districts. District winners will receive a $250 college scholarship, while one grand prize winner will be selected to represent the entire state and receive a total of $500 to use towards college.​​​ 

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​The If I Were Mayor Essay submission form will be opening in November with the launch of our new website!
collapse Year : 2020 ‎(4)
Addison Winters
Lansing Middle School
Finn O'Toole
North Central Junior High
Peyton Beeck
Hinton Middle School
Ryan Meyer
Interstate 35 Middle School
collapse Year : 2019 ‎(4)
Avery Welte
Hinton Middle School
Clara Waldron
Van Meter School
Kevin Ashbacher
Lansing Middle School
Rowan Scherer
Maharishi School
collapse Year : 2018 ‎(5)
 Adin Huet
West Central Valley
Alyssa Ferdig
Waco High School
Ella Strand
Oelwein Middle School
Larae Steiner
Mediapolis Middle School
Megan Dunlap
Emmetsburg Catholic School
collapse Year : 2017 ‎(4)
Brianna Hargrave
Marshalltown Christian School
Gabriella Deery
Notre Dame Middle School (Burlington)
Taylor Buckley
Bondurant-Farrar Middle School
Zach Sypersma
Hinton Community School
collapse Year : 2016 ‎(4)
Anna Hoffman
Mount Vernon Middle School
Ellen McDonough
St. Augustin School
Emily Small
Hinton Community School
Thaddeus Shetler
Mid-Prairie Middle School
collapse Year : 2015 ‎(4)
Emma Martin
Tripoli Community Schools
Holly Dierenfield
Storm Lake Middle School
Kayden J. Rezac
Tipton Middle School
Rylee Krantz
West Central Valley Middle School (Stuart)
collapse Year : 2014 ‎(4)
Autumn Gadoua
Nishnabotna Middle School (Hamburg)
Kira Parkis
St. Lawrence Center (Carroll))
Kyleigh Graham
Mid-Prairie Middle School (Student from Wellman)
Olivia Fransen
Eleanor Roosevelt Middle School (Dubuque)