Board & Committees

The Executive Board is the governing body of the Iowa League of Cities. The Executive Board is responsible for adopting policies to provide direction to the League, adopting the annual operating budget, establishing membership fees, and providing direction to the executive director consistent with the League constitution and bylaws. The Executive Board is composed of 19 officials from member cities including a president, president-elect, immediate past president, two other past presidents, and 14 directors from various geographic regions and population classifications. The League constitution requires officers and a majority of the Executive Board to be elected officials. Traditionally, city managers, administrators and city clerks are also represented on the Executive Board. For additional information, contact Alan Kemp, Executive Director, Iowa League of Cities.
The Iowa League of Cities bylaws require the Executive Board to meet a minimum of four times each fiscal year. Currently, the executive board meets every February, April, June, August, and November, in addition to the business meeting held during the Annual Conference.

 Board Members

Patty Anderson, Board Member
City Clerk/Administrator
11 S Central Avenue
Hartley, IA 51346
(712) 928-2240
Lori Brown, Board Member
City Clerk
104 E 4th St
Wilton, IA 52778
(563) 732-2115
Coleen Chipman, Board Member
Council Member
1490 West Forevergreen Road
North Liberty, IA 52317
(319) 626-6958
Buck Clark, Immediate Past President
715 Mulberry Street
Waterloo, IA 50703-5783
(319) 291-4301
Kay Cmelik, Board Member
City Clerk/Finance Officer
927 4th Ave
Grinnell, IA 50112
(641) 236-2601
Kim Downs, Board Member
City Administrator
101 Emmons Street
Hiawatha, IA 52233
(319) 393-1515
Jim Erb, Board Member
105 Milwaukee Mall
Charles City, IA 50616-2280
(641) 257-6311
Jim Ferneau, Board Member
City Manager
400 Washington Street
Burlington, IA 52601
(319) 753-8120
Clint Fichter, Board Member
City Manager
PO Box 246
Avoca, IA 51521
(712) 343-2424
Linda Gaul, Board Member
City Clerk
(563) 923-3365
Kris Gulick, Past President
Council Member
101 First Street Se
Cedar Rapids, IA 52401
(319) 286-5051
Alan Kemp, Executive Director
Executive Director
500 SW 7th Street, Suite 101
Des Moines, IA 50309
(515) 974-5315
Gregg Mandsager, Board Member
City Administrator/Clerk
215 Sycamore
Muscatine, IA 52761
(563) 264-1550
Reynold Peterson, Past President
418 2nd Avenue W
Spencer, IA 51301
(712) 580-7200
Scott Peterson, Board Member
City Administrator/Clerk
305 Main Street
Lake View, IA 51450
(712) 657-2634
Kimberly Sacker, Board Member
Council Member
120 East St
Van Meter, IA 50261
(515) 281-4033
Adam Schweers, Board Member
1642 Oakwood Drive
Carroll, IA 51401
(712) 792-1000
Hans Trousil, Board Member
122 Broadway
West Burlington, IA 52655
(319) 752-5451
Matt Walsh, President-elect
209 Pearl Street
Council Bluffs, IA 51503
(712) 328-4601
Warren Woods, President
PO Box 449
PO Box 449
Creston, IA 50801-0449
(641) 782-2000
The League relies on a slate of standing and ad-hoc member committees to advise League staff in several areas. The League Executive Board President traditionally makes assignments to open committee seats each November after taking office. The length of the assignment and the frequency of committee meetings depends on the purpose of each committee. When possible, committee members are selected from the pool of those that have expressed interest in serving.