Board

The Executive Board is the governing body of the Iowa League of Cities. The Executive Board is responsible for adopting policies to provide direction to the League, adopting the annual operating budget, establishing membership fees, and providing direction to the executive director consistent with the League constitution and bylaws.

Resources

League Committees

 

 

League Involvement Application
Executive Board Application
Monthly Leadership Column
Board Minutes
Executive Board Member Structure

The Executive Board is composed of 19 officials from member cities including a president, president-elect, immediate past president, two other past presidents, and 14 directors from various geographic regions and population classifications. The League constitution requires officers and a majority of the Executive Board to be elected officials. Traditionally, city managers, administrators and city clerks are also represented on the Executive Board.

For additional information, contact Alan Kemp, Executive Director, Iowa League of Cities.

When do they meet?

The Iowa League of Cities bylaws require the Executive Board to meet a minimum of four times each fiscal year. Currently, the executive board meets every February, April, June, August, and November, in addition to the business meeting held during the Annual Conference.

Board Members

Meet our current Executive Board

Board Member | Council Member
Brad Cavanagh

565 Fenelon Pl
Dubuque, IA 52001

bcavanagh@cityofdubuque.org
(563) 690-6508

Board Member | Council Member
Tom Cope

8583 Newbury Ct
Johnston, IA 50131

tomwcope@msn.com
(515) 278-2344

Image of John Haila
President-elect | Mayor
John Haila

PO Box 811
515 Clark Avenue
Ames, IA 50010

john.haila@cityofames.org
(515) 239-5105

Immediate Past President | Mayor
Quentin Hart

715 Mulberry Street
Waterloo, IA 50703

quentin.hart@waterloo-ia.org
(319) 291-4323

President | Mayor
Donny Hobbs

201 2nd Street
Lohrville, IA 51453

mayorhobbs@gmail.com
(712) 210-3565

Board Member | City Administrator/Clerk
Michael Holton

PO Box 234
7 S Eyberg
Treynor, IA 51575

Michaelh@cityoftreynor.com
(712) 487-3787

Board Member | Mayor
David Jones

405 E 5th Street
Atlantic, IA 50022

jone917@gmail.com
(712) 243-4810

Executive Director
Alan Kemp

500 SW 7th Street
Suite 101
Des Moines, IA 50309

alankemp@iowaleague.org
(515) 974-5315

Past President | Mayor
Tom Lazio

105 E 3rd Street
Ottumwa, IA 52501

mayor@ottumwa.us
(641) 680-0153

Board Member | Council Member
Shirley McAdon

1305 S 15th Street
Adel, IA 50003

smcadon@adeliowa.org
(515) 993-4525

Past President | Council Member
Scott Naumann

1609 State Street
Bettendorf, IA 52722

snaumann@bettendorf.org
(563) 505-7953

Board Member | Council Member
Bruce Perry

PO Box 37
Sac City, IA 50583

BruceLPerry@gmail.com
(712) 662-4163

Board Member | Council Member
Greg Piklapp

204 Marion St
Boone, IA 50036

gregpiklapp@gmail.com
(515) 432-4211

Board Member | Council Member
Tim Schmidt

1065 Center Avenue
Garner, IA 50438

tim.schmidt@pritchards.com
(641) 512-2258

Board Member | City Clerk
Susan Sembach

PO Box 126
121 9th St.
Sibley, IA 51249

sibleyclerk@premieronline.net
(712) 754-2541

Board Member | City Administrator
Corri Spiegel

226 W 4th Street
Davenport, IA 52801

corri.spiegel@davenportiowa.com
(563) 888-3384

Board Member | Mayor
Christopher Taylor

PO Box 279
66 2nd Street SW
Swisher, IA 52338

mayor@swisheria.org
(319) 857-4539

Board Member | Council Member
Ashley Vanorny

101 First Street SE
Cedar Rapids, IA 52401

a.vanorny@cedar-rapids.org
(319) 286-5051

Board Member | City Manager
Brian Wagner

407 Lynn Street
Tipton, IA 52772

citymanager@tiptoniowa.org
(563) 886-6187

Board Member | City Manager
Scott Wynja

335 First Avenue NW
Sioux Center, IA 51250

scottw@siouxcenter.org
(712) 722-0761