Home Rule 50th Anniversary




Cities across the state will celebrate the 50th Anniversary of the Home Rule Amendment to Iowa’s State Constitution during 2018.

In 1968 the Home Rule Amendment was passed by the citizens of Iowa and constitutionalized local control in the state of Iowa. This transitioned Iowa from a Dillon’s Rule state, where local government powers are derived exclusively from the state legislature, to a Home Rule state where local government powers are derived from the State Constitution.

In addition to celebrations at Iowa League of Cities events throughout 2018, the League will publish monthly articles talking about Home Rule in its Cityscape magazine. The League is also encouraging each city in Iowa to pass a proclamation stating, “Home Rule is essential to effective and responsive municipal governance in all cities in Iowa,” and that local control “continues to be vital to the health and prosperity of all cities in Iowa.”

Thank you to all the cities that have passed a proclamation! 

If you have a proclamation and aren't on this list, let us know at mailbox@iowaleague.org​.

Elliott Greenfield Lowden
Ida Grove Stanhope Windsor Heights
Decorah Manchester Estherville
Van Meter Milford Mediapolis
Independence Nevada Nashua
Robins Maharishi Vedic City Neola
Fort Dodge Dallas Center Tripoli
Boone Cascade Wayland
New Hampton Clive Alton
Waukee Mount Vernon Orange City
Manning Oakland Plainfield
Ottumwa Otho Clarinda
Atlantic Red Oak Moulton
Webster City Bettendorf Scranton
Ely Melbourne Corning
Carlisle Guttenberg Hazleton
Williamsburg Indianola Hudson
Coralville West Des Moines Riverdale
Gilbertville Anthon Rolfe
Iowa City Aplington Shenandoah
Marion Corydon Winthrop
Colfax Monroe Hartley
Council Bluffs Reinbeck Delhi
Essex Badger Massena
Afton Woodward Protivin
West Burlington Mingo Ireton
Cedar Falls Correctionville Defiance
Prairieburg Holstein Adel
Emmetsburg Lake Park Farley
Coggon Northwood Goose Lake
North Liberty Walnut Gowrie
Ogden Toledo West Branch
Central City Templeton Charter Oak
Baxter Walker Churdan
Emerson Wyoming Clarion
George Primghar Garner
Sergeant Bluff Davenport Sloan
Wilton Evansdale Tipton
Forest City Monticello Fontanelle
Johnston Clarence Osceola
Creston Missouri Valley Randolph
Harlan Hawkeye Swisher
Quasqueton St Ansgar Wesley
Urbana Wahpeton Carroll
Lamont Perry Luzerne
Malvern Remsen Moorland
West Point Alta Oxford
DeWitt Burlington Allison
Urbandale Dow City Fenton
Vail Dyersville Bondurant
Clinton Fairfield Marcus
Farnhamville Fayette Norwalk
Glenwood Garrison Calmar
Storm Lake