Hall of Fame Award

The League Hall of Fame Award was created to recognize individuals who have provided extraordinary public service to the League and local government. The Hall of Fame has previously been awarded to elected or appointed city officials, business or civic leaders, persons rendering assistance to cities as trainers, consultants, or advisors, and former members of the League staff are eligible for induction. Selection for this award is made on the basis of service rendered to city government generally, including leadership in the League, League-affiliated Boards, or other municipal organizations, service on state or national boards or commissions, providing extraordinary service to cities in training, education and development of local leadership, advocating for cities and good local government, and providing exceptional professional assistance and support to cities.

The League inducts winners into the Hall of Fame at its Annual Conference & Exhibit, though the award is not always given every year. Award nominations are accepted year-round. The League Awards Panel recommends a slate of Hall of Fame inductees for League Executive Board ratification during the August board meeting.

collapse Year : 2021 ‎(2)
2021Decker Ploehn
City Administrator/Clerk in Bettendorf
2021John Lundell
Mayor in Coralville
collapse Year : 2020 ‎(2)
2020Terry Donahue
League past president, Mayor, North Liberty
2020Wanda Hemesath
City Clerk/Treasurer, Decorah
collapse Year : 2019 ‎(2)
2019David Heiar
Long time city administrator and economic development professional in Bellevue, Manchester and Dubuque.
2019James Erb
Former mayor in Charles City, former League Board Member and former President of the Executive Board
collapse Year : 2018 ‎(2)
2018Kelly Hayworth
Long time city administrator in Coralville and member of the IMWCA Board of Trustees
2018Ruth Randleman
Former mayor in Carlisle, Former League Board Member and former President of the Executive Board
collapse Year : 2017 ‎(1)
2017Gordon Canfield
Mayor in Grinnell
collapse Year : 2016 ‎(2)
2016Ann Campbell
Mayor of Ames and Former League Board Member
2016Milt L. Kramer
Mayor of Manchester
collapse Year : 2015 ‎(4)
2015Bruce Bergman
Former City Attorney in Des Moines, Former Iowa League of Cities General Counsel
2015Butch Niebuhr
Former City Administrator in Perry
2015Larry Nagle
Former Director of Government Relations for the East Central Intergovernmental Association
2015Terry Timmins
Former City Attorney in Sioux City and Council Bluffs, Former Deputy City Attorney in Des Moines, Former Iowa League of Cities General Counsel
collapse Year : 2014 ‎(1)
2014Gerald Clausen
City Manager in Carroll
collapse Year : 2013 ‎(3)
2013Curt Svalstad
Former Risk Services Director for the Iowa League of Cities
2013Jim Fausett
League past president and Mayor of Coralville
2013Pam Blessman
Former city clerk, finance officer and city administrator & IMFOA officer
collapse Year : 2012 ‎(1)
2012Donna Fisher
Former Deputy City Manager/Finance Office in Spencer, co-founder of Northwest Iowa City Clerks' Association
collapse Year : 2011 ‎(2)
2011Christine Hensley
Des Moines Council Member
2011Jeff Schott
Director, Institute of Public Affairs, University of Iowa
collapse Year : 2010 ‎(1)
2010Tim Hurley
League past president and former mayor, Waterloo
collapse Year : 2009 ‎(2)
2009Andrea “Andi” Stewart
Former League Administrative Manager
2009Ken and Val Bilbrey
Iowa Communities Assurance Board leadership
collapse Year : 2008 ‎(1)
2008John Mardis
Former League President and Mayor of Evansdale
collapse Year : 2007 ‎(2)
2007Cindy Kendall
Former city treasurer of Marshalltown, former MFPRSI board member and City Finance Committee member.
2007Thomas G. Bredeweg
Former League executive director
collapse Year : 2006 ‎(2)
2006Carol Ann Diekema
Former board member, former City Coordinator and mayor of Monroe
2006Ted Tedesco
League past president, former mayor, Ames
collapse Year : 2004 ‎(3)
2004Jack Whitmer
Former director, Iowa Clerks Institute
2004Paul Coates
Director, Iowa Clerks Institute
2004Richard D. Johnson
League past president, city clerk and former mayor of Sheldahl and former Auditor of State
collapse Year : 2003 ‎(3)
2003David Aldridge
League past president and former mayor of Newton
2003O. Gene Maddox
League past president, state representative and former mayor of Clive
2003Richard Myers
Former state House minority leader and former council member Coralville
collapse Year : 2002 ‎(1)
2002David Ehler
Former secretary/treasurer of the Northwest Iowa League of Cities and former city clerk, Holstein
collapse Year : 2001 ‎(2)
2001Jody Smith
Chair, Iowa Communities Assurance Pool, former board member of Iowa Public Agency Investment Trust and Deputy City Manager/City Clerk, City of West Des Moines
2001Pat Callahan
Former director, Institute of Public Affairs and former city manager in Maquoketa and Anamosa.
collapse Year : 2000 ‎(1)
2000Bob Rasmussen
League past president, League field representative, former board chair of Iowa Public Agency Investment Trust and former mayor of Fairfield
collapse Year : 1999 ‎(2)
1999Erlene Veverka
League past president, former board member of Iowa Public Agency Investment Trust and former mayor of Prairie City.
1999Tom Hanafan
League past president, board member of Iowa Public Agency Investment Trust and mayor of Council Bluffs
collapse Year : 1998 ‎(2)
1998John A. Reno
JA Reno and Associates (posthumously)
1998Phil Dorweiler
Former municipal bond counsel
collapse Year : 1997 ‎(1)
1997Clayton Ringgenburg
Former director of technical services and former director of the Institute of Public Affairs
collapse Year : 1996 ‎(3)
1996Ed Allen
Former director of technical assistance at the League
1996Elaine Szymoniak
Former city council member of Des Moines, former board member and former state senator
1996Park Rinard
First executive director of the League
collapse Year : 1995 ‎(6)
1995Betty Snyder
Former board member and former mayor of Clinton
1995E.J. Giovannetti
League past president, past board chair of Iowa Municipalities Workers' Compensation Association and former mayor of Urbandale
1995Mary Neuhauser
Former city council member of Iowa City and former state senator
1995Robert Josten
Municipal bond counsel and former League executive director
1995Tim Shields
Former director, Institute of Public Affairs, University of Iowa
1995William F. Sueppel
Former League general counsel