Board & Committees

The Executive Board is the governing body of the Iowa League of Cities. The Executive Board is responsible for adopting policies to provide direction to the League, adopting the annual operating budget, establishing membership fees, and providing direction to the executive director consistent with the League constitution and bylaws. The Executive Board is composed of 19 officials from member cities including a president, president-elect, immediate past president, two other past presidents, and 14 directors from various geographic regions and population classifications. The League constitution requires officers and a majority of the Executive Board to be elected officials. Traditionally, city managers, administrators and city clerks are also represented on the Executive Board. For additional information, contact Alan Kemp, Executive Director, Iowa League of Cities.
The Iowa League of Cities bylaws require the Executive Board to meet a minimum of four times each fiscal year. Currently, the executive board meets every February, April, June, August, and November, in addition to the business meeting held during the Annual Conference.

 Board Members

Brad Cavanagh, Board Member
Council Member
565 Fenelon Pl
Dubuque, IA 52001-6632
(563) 690-6508
Tom Cope, Board Member
Council Member
8583 Newbury Ct
Johnston, IA 50131
(515) 278-2344
John Haila, President-elect
PO Box 811
515 Clark Avenue
Ames, IA 50010
(515) 239-5105
Quentin Hart, Immediate Past President
715 Mulberry Street
Waterloo, IA 50703-5783
(319) 291-4323
Donny Hobbs, President
201 2nd Street
Lohrville, IA 51453
(712) 210-3565
Michael Holton, Board Member
City Administrator/Clerk
PO Box 234
7 S Eyberg Ave
Treynor, IA 51575-0234
(712) 487-3787
David Jones, Board Member
405 E 5th Street
Atlantic, IA 50022
(712) 243-4810
Alan Kemp, Executive Director
Executive Director
500 SW 7th Street Suite 101
Des Moines, IA 50309
(515) 974-5315
Tom Lazio, Past President
105 E 3rd Street
Ottumwa, IA 52501-2904
(641) 680-0153
Shirley McAdon, Board Member
Council Member
1305 S 15th Street
Adel, IA 50003
(515) 993-4525
Scott Naumann, Past President
Council Member
1609 State Street
Bettendorf, IA 52722-4971
(563) 505-7953
Bruce Perry, Board Member
Council Member
PO Box 37
Sac City, IA 50583-0037
(712) 662-4163
Greg Piklapp, Board Member
Council Member
204 Marion St
Boone, IA 50036
(515) 432-4211
Tim Schmidt, Board Member
Council Member
1065 Center Avenue
Garner, IA 50438
(641) 512-2258
Susan Sembach, Board Member
City Clerk
PO Box 126
121 9th St.
Sibley, IA 51249-0126
(712) 754-2541
Corri Spiegel, Board Member
City Administrator
226 W 4th Street
Davenport, IA 52801-1398
(563) 888-3384
Christopher Taylor, Board Member
PO Box 279
66 2nd Street SW
Swisher, IA 52338-0279
(319) 857-4539
Ashley Vanorny, Board Member
Council Member
101 First Street SE
Cedar Rapids, IA 52401
(319) 286-5051
Brian Wagner, Board Member
City Manager
407 Lynn Street
Tipton, IA 52772-1633
(563) 886-6187
Scott Wynja, Board Member
City Manager
335 First Avenue NW
Sioux Center, IA 51250-1895
(712) 722-0761
The League relies on a slate of standing and ad-hoc member committees to advise League staff in several areas. The League Executive Board President traditionally makes assignments to open committee seats each November after taking office. The length of the assignment and the frequency of committee meetings depends on the purpose of each committee. When possible, committee members are selected from the pool of those that have expressed interest in serving.