2014 Proposed Legislative Priorities

The 2014 Priorities proposed by the League’s Legislative Policy Committee were ratified by the League’s Executive Board on August 22, 2013, but are not final until approved by League members.

Proposed Priority One: Increase existing funding and develop new funding resources for city infrastructure needs, which include maintaining Iowa’s roads and bridges and water and wastewater compliance.

Proposed Priority Two: Ensure long-term sustainability and fairness of the Municipal Fire and Police Retirement System of Iowa (MFPRSI).  Enact changes to MFPRSI that result in a more balanced system and control costs to cities.

Proposed Priority Three: Support essential and diversified funding options, including property tax backfill for local revenue losses and diversified revenue options; support progressive economic development policies and maintain funding for key economic development programs.

Proposed Priority Four: Ensure legislation enhances a city’s ability to make decisions at the local level to operate efficiently and to deliver city services more effectively.

Questions about the proposed priorites may be directed to the Legislative Policy Committee Members, listed below, or the Dustin Miller, the League's governmental affairs manager.

Legislative Policy Committee Members

Greg Adamson, Council Member of Bettendorf 
Chad Bird, City Manager of Decorah
Bob Brunkhorst, Mayor of Waverly
Aaron Burnett, City Administrator of Humboldt
Coleen Chipman, Council Member of North Liberty 
Buck Clark, Mayor of Waterloo (Chair)
Gerald Clausen, City Manager of Carroll 
Shawn Dietz, Mayor of Hampton
Carolyn Formanek, Council Member of Knoxville 
Don Gross, Community Development Director of Council Bluffs
Jim Heavens, Mayor of Dyersville
Joshua Heggen, Community Development Director of Norwalk
Joseph Helfenberger, City Administrator of Ottumwa
David Jones, Mayor of Atlantic
Bob Kindred, Assistant City Manager of Ames
Carrie Kirchhoff, City Clerk of Lewis
Andy Lent, City Coordinator of Vinton
Gregg Mandsager, City Administrator/Clerk of Muscatine
Ken Mick, Mayor of Garner
Beryl O'Connor, Mayor of Lisbon
Thomas Padgett, Council Member of Sioux City
Sherry Parrott, Council Member of Afton
Greg Piklapp, Council Member of Boone
Michael Schrock, City Manager of Oskaloosa
Byron Smith, City Manager of Fort Madison
Kevin Trevillyan, Council Member of West Des Moines
Randy Wetmore, City Administrator of Marshalltown
Warren Woods, Mayor of Creston
Justin Yarosevich, Asstant City Admin/City Clerk of Storm Lake